Where – and when – can you recycle your old glass products?


PHOTO VIA SHUTTERSTOCK

IIf you’re looking for a way to recycle your old glass, you’re in luck; for the second year in a row, the Pennsylvania Resources Council will be offering its Traveling Glass Recycling Bin program at Allegheny County parks.

Beginning April 2, the ferry will spend six days at each of the county parks, Saturday through Thursday. Visitors will be able to drop off their old glass products from 7:00 a.m. until sunset.

“Glass recycling continues to be of interest to county residents and with fewer options available at the curb, we are excited to provide this service in our county parks,” County Executive Rich Fitzgerald said in a statement. a statement. “We know that glass bottles and jars are 100% recyclable and can be recycled over and over again without loss of quality, which makes the effort to put these items back into the recycling ecosystem even more important.”

Last year, residents recycled 10.2 tons, or 20,490 pounds, of glass. This reduced CO2 emissions by 0.29 tonnes, according to the county.

People can drop in glass bottles, jars, and decanters of any color, without the need to sort colors. Containers should be empty and rinsed out, with lids and labels still in place. The bags and boxes used to deliver the glass must be disposed of offsite.

Here’s a breakdown of where and when you can dispose of your old glass:

Saturday April 2 – Thursday April 7: Harrison Hills Park Chipmunk Drive Lot, near Park Office Freeport Road

From Saturday May 14 to Thursday May 19: Settlers Cabin, Wave Pool Parking Lot

Saturday June 18 – Thursday June 23: Boyce Park Ski Lodge Parking Lot

From Saturday July 16 to Thursday July 21: 7 Round Hill Park main parking lot near Duck Pond

From Saturday August 13 to Thursday August 18: South Park VIP Lot Corrigan Drive and 100 Acres Drive

From Saturday August 27 to Thursday September 1: Deer Lakes Park 2nd Veterans Shelter Lot Mahaffey Road near roundabout

From Saturday September 17 to Thursday September 22: Hartwood Acres Park Amphitheater Overflow Lot Middle Road

From Saturday October 22 to Thursday October 27: North Park Pool Parking Lot

From Saturday November 12 to Thursday November 17: White Oak Park Chestnut Shelter and Playground Lot McClintock Road

Previous How High-Cost Loans Are Affecting Black and Latino Communities in Memphis
Next Low-income Canadians took out loans at interest rates of up to 60% during COVID